Summer Goals

   Recently, I finished my first full year of coursework in my Ph.D. program.  Overall, I was happy with how it went.  I hit a couple of rough patches, as tends to happen in life, but I still managed to persevere.  I was successful in my classes and learned a lot from my colleagues, professors, and assistantship tasks.  Now that summer has arrived, I will still have work and my classes, but I am also hoping to have time to focus on myself.  I also know that I tend to be undisciplined if I do not set concrete goals for myself.  Therefore, while I am sitting here at Cool Beans coffee shop at my “old school” stomping ground, I figured it would be worth taking time to set goals for myself, so that my dear friends and blog followers can help hold me accountable.  Also, please feel free to make me your accountability partner in these situations.  Those who know and love me know that I can “tell it like it is” sometimes, but that I mean well and can be a good cheerleader.   With that, here are my personal goals: 

1. Travel, but in an inexpensive and creative way.  I am going to New York City as a birthday present from my family memorial day weekend and to a conference in Columbia, South Carolina (the Children’s Literature Association Conference on the weekend of June 21st, for those others who love the genre).  I really wanted to go out west for July 4th weekend, but I cannot afford the plane tickets as they are priced right now.  So, I would love to do something fun, but inexpensive on the weekend of the 4th, so friends, let me know if you have a bandwagon I can join.  

2. Start weight lifting again, and just overall being healthier: Since I started graduate school, I have gained a total of 15 pounds.  I could sit here and make excuses, and I did have a lot of life changes this past year, but I also know it’s my own fault when it’s all said and done.  That being said, I need to take responsibility and be more proactive about my health, since this issue seems to run in my family.  Therefore, I have started myfitnesspal, more water, more walks, more trips to the Ramsey Center elliptical machine, and no more alcohol and dessert in the house.  My doctor thinks these are steps in the right direction.  She also recommended less bread, whole grain when I eat it, and to go back to my weight training.  Therefore, if any Athenians want to join me in the Ramsey weight room or elsewhere, then let me know.  That place makes me extremely intimidated for many reasons, but this is something I need to do for myself because I want to be healthy.  

3. Write more: I have one article that my friend and colleague Jennifer and I are almost done with, and I’m ever so excited about it!  I really think we have a good chance of getting it published.  I also have two papers in the mix, both of which are seminar papers, and a potential co-author piece that I am working on with another colleague.  They’re all great ideas, but if they are going to come to fruition, I have to discipline myself to actually work on them.  Also, I would love to blog more and to work on some creative writing that I’ve been putting on the back burner recently.  Therefore, if you want to write with me this summer, let me know.  I am an extrovert with some introverted tendencies, so while I love to write, it helps me to get verbal feedback from other people.  

4. Get out more: when you’re in graduate school, it can be hard to meet people outside of your bubble.  And to be honest, I absolutely hate online dating.  However, I know that I am at the point where I need to, ugh, date again.  Therefore, I am trying to find ways to meet people that are fun than potentially getting catfished.  Hopefully, summer will bring cool festivals in both Athens and my other home city, Atlanta.  

5. See the glass as half full: I feel like we all have negative things happen in our lives, but it’s better to focus on the positive ones.  Therefore, I’m going to try to be more mindful of my thought process so I think more positively about myself as well as others. 

So there we have it.  Lists of five seem to work, as we all have five fingers.  I also have a five year finger plan, but that’s a story for another day.  My friends Kat, Nic, and Jessica want to know about it, and if you want me to elaborate, talk to me.  Maybe you can help me write about it in the right way. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

